women 4 hope

Dedicated to addressing women’s issues.

Pro-Life or Pro-Choice…You must agree that criminalizing miscarriage is wrong. (with YouTube video)

Posted by Catherine Morgan on September 4, 2007

Pro-Life or Pro-Choice…You must agree that criminalizing miscarriage is wrong. — by Catherine Morgan (cross-posted at BlogHer)

I didn’t have something specific to blog about for todays post, I’ve been a bit preoccupied with my daughter this week (I’ll tell you more at the end of this post, if you’re interested), so I decided to Google women’s health for ideas.

The first thing I noticed was a post about Women’s Health Month at Cleveland State, but when I clicked on the link, it said the article couldn’t be found. Admittedly, I’m a bit impatient, so rather than try to locate this article I moved on. September is also Healthy Aging Month, National Cholesterol Education Month, Childhood Cancer Month, National Sickle Cell Month, and Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month, just to name a few, and I’ll probably post on some of these throughout the month. But, what I decided to post about today was a story from Rachel, at Women’s Health News.

The post is titled Miscarriage or Crime? At first I didn’t even want to read it. I’ve had several miscarriages before I had my two successful pregnancies, and even though they were over sixteen years ago, the emotional pain is still fresh. If you have suffered a miscarriage you will understand what I am talking about. But, I did decide to read this post, and it was even more disturbing than I could have imagined. Maybe I am just oversensitive because of my personal history, but this story made me really mad.

Here it is, let me know what you think…

Small Fetus Found In Morgantown Sewer

Police are searching for the mother of a small fetus found by utility workers at a sewage pump station Monday in Morgantown, W.Va.

Here is the local news footage of this story…

The fetus will be sent to the state medical examiner’s office in Charleston for an autopsy to determine race, sex and age.

Honestly…”Are you kidding me?” Have we maybe taken this “right to life” issue a little too far, when a woman can’t even have a miscarriage without first being suspected of a crime? And it makes the news, no less??? Will woman having miscarriages at least be innocent until proven guilty? What is the crime here anyway…The woman did something to “cause” the miscarriage? Isn’t there enough psychological damage that a woman goes through after a miscarriage, without her being “blamed” for it too? Do we really need to hunt her down like a common criminal for an explanation?

This is really one of the most disgusting, disrespectful things I have heard in a long time. I can not believe that this news station, is actually covering this story as if it is some kind of homicide investigation. They should be ashamed of themselves. What’s next for investigative journalism? I’m not even going to venture a guess.

Okay, there really isn’t anything more for me to say about this…I would like to know what others think of this disturbing story though. Are women who have had a miscarriage more angry about this than a woman who has not? Do you think this is really some sort of crime? And, if it’s a crime to have a miscarriage…What should the punishment be???

On a brighter note. I alluded to my preoccupation with my daughter this past week, and I’m excited to tell all of you why. It goes without saying that both of my children make me very proud, they are both good kids and do well in school. But, on Wednesday of this week, my daughter (13) asked me to help her do something very special. She wanted to follow in her mother’s footsteps, and start her very own blog. Wow. My heart skips a beat now, every time she comes home excited about another idea she has for a post. And, she’s good too. Don’t take my word for it, check it out yourself. The name of her blog is “Princess and Her Pets“, she hasn’t even been blogging for a full week yet, and she already has 795 hits from all over the world. THAT’S MY GIRL!!!

4 Responses to “Pro-Life or Pro-Choice…You must agree that criminalizing miscarriage is wrong. (with YouTube video)”

  1. Lauren said

    It is illegal to have an abortion outside of a proper clinic. And according to the Unborn Victims of Violence Act which came into action in 2004, it is also illegal to intentionally cause harm to an unborn child but this does not apply to legal abortions (Personally this makes no sense to me). So just so you know. You can disagree with the law and situation as a whole, but it is a law.

  2. Misty said

    For the poster above…Who said anything about abortion? Do you know how many women do not even know they are pregnant and this has happened to them? I DO KNOW. Just because a fetus is found in a sewage drain doesn’t automatically mean the mother “illegally aborted” her fetus. Who said anything about agreeing with abortion or not agreeing with abortion?

    Regarding the article…I worked at a women’s prison as a nurse for 4 years. I can count on one hand the times that a woman miscarried while incarcerated and before calling the nurses down to help, the guards flushed the toilet-with the fetus in it. My question is this…if you miscarry while sitting on the toilet and you didn’t even know you were pregnant…WHAT DO YOU DO? I mean come on…dig around in the toilet? Disgusting! Even if you do know you are pregnant and you miscarry very early on (up to 11 weeks)-WHAT DO YOU DO? The anguish is enough without having to “find” your fetus in a dirty toilet and then do what with it? I’m just not understanding why they are criminalizing this. It is absolutely ridiculous. There is no way a fetus would survive outside the female body at this age. I know it is still a child, but come on. I’ve miscarried 3 times and I know the agony I went through.

  3. just a quick note iam the mom of 8 beautiful children[one ababy angel in heaven] and yes dig in atoilet i did when after finding out my son had died in my womb at 18wks [found out at 20wk checkup] my doctor sent me to abbortion clinic to do a d&e . luckil they sent me home after preping me and in pain i dilivered at home while goijng .needles too say i did not go back to dr or clinic went to different hospital where i was told because he was not a pound in the eyes of my state he was nothing but waste(not as i saw it i counted ten fingers and toes ect.}Talk about criminally ridiculas because of someone elses right to chose My son is not considered more than waste.UNFAIR
    God bless,life is like apebble tossed in the oceans it causes a ripple that effects more than else alone

  4. Sweet blog. I never know what I am going to come across next. I think you should do more posting as you have some pretty intelligent stuff to say.

    I’ll be watching you . 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
