women 4 hope

Dedicated to addressing women’s issues.

Respiratory Care Week

Posted by Catherine Morgan on October 25, 2007

lungs-blue.jpg

When Breathing Hurts — by Catherine Morgan (cross-posted at BlogHer

With all the attention breast cancer gets this month, it’s easy to forget that there are many other diseases that are also recognized in October. Next week, October 21st -27nd is Respiratory Care week, so I decided to devote this post to Lung Disease awareness, and some of the bloggers that are giving it to us.

There are many different types of lung disease…COPD, Asthma, Lung Cancer, TB, Cystic Fibrosis, Sleep Apnea, to name a few. All of these conditions can range from mild symptoms to severe, and even if you don’t suffer from one of them, it’s very likely you know someone who does.

READ FULL POST AT BLOGHER

(image from)

3 Responses to “Respiratory Care Week”

  1. Benjamin said

    Hello my name is Benjamin. I was diagnosed with severe sleep apnea. I have been battling with my insurance company and they are not going to help me get a bipap machine because it is a pre-existing condition. I am trying to get one used online. I set up a website to try to tell my story and hopefully make enough from the ads to purchase a bipap machine. The last sleep study I went to told me that if I did not get a machine, I was headed for a heart attack in 5 years. I am 36. I appreciate anyone who makes the effort to spread the word. I would like to try to set up a way for the uninsured to get cpap and bipap machines without insurance. Thanks Very Much

  2. Hi Benjamin.

    That is just terrible, these insurance companies should not be aloud to get away with this kind of thing…although I know they are getting away with it often.

    Sleep apnea is a problem my mother suffers with as well (so I’ll ask her if she has any leads on a bipap). But, I think I will also attempt to tackle this issue with insurance companies soon, and I will use your story as an example (with a link to your site). Maybe that will help.

    Anyway, I should be able to post on this issue on BlogHer Health and Wellness (more than likely within a week or so), and then I will cross post to this blog and one of my others too. I’ll drop you an email and let you know once I have posted something.

    Take care,

    Catherine

  3. […] something else.  See the quote below from Women4hope blog. “Just the other day on my Women 4 Hope blog…I had a young man comment about being told he had sleep apnea, and that he needed a special […]

Leave a Reply

 
