women 4 hope

Dedicated to addressing women’s issues.

I Lost 29 Pounds, 15 More To Go…My Personal Diet and Exercise Plans For The New Year.

Posted by Catherine Morgan on January 8, 2009

Last year around this time I came to the realization that I was at my highest weight ever.  I knew I was overweight, but when I checked my BMI I was shocked to realize that I had actually tipped into the “obese” category.  My BMI was 30.8 and anything over 30 is considered obese. It was at that moment that I decided I needed to make a drastic lifestyle change.  But hardcore dieting really isn’t my thing, so I started a “pre-diet” to ease myself into weight loss.

By the end of the year, my healthy eating had paid off, and I had lost 29 pounds [insert happy dance here].  Anyway, it took almost a year, but my BMI is down to 25.7 (overweight is considered to be between 25 and 29.9).  So I’m still a few pounds away from being considered “normal weight”, but I’m more determined than ever to get there.

If I lose 15-20 more pounds, that will put me smack in the middle of what’s considered to be a normal and healthy weight (a BMI between 18.5 and 24.9).  So that’s my goal for the new year, and it’s time for me to start a real diet.  But what diet?  There are so many.

I decided to try using a Health Tracker that I found online.  Each day I can record my weight along with the food (calories) I eat, and keep track of every aspect of my diet.  I also decided that I would take advantage of the sales on pre-packaged diet meals that we always see right after the holidays.  I ended up getting Lean Cuisines for 50% off, and paid between $1.45 and $1.85 per meal.  This is working great for me because it’s easy to keep track of calories, quick to prepare when I’m hungry, and I have a lot of choices so I don’t feel deprived.  I’m also still using Isagenix supplements and shakes for added nutrition.

Since January 1st I’ve lost 3.5 pounds, and I’m now less than one pound away from not being overweight – woohoo.

I also found a great deal on a Bally Total Fitness – Core Sculpting System that was on a clearance table a few days after Christmas…Now I just have to watch the DVD and figure out how to use it.

So that’s my plan, and I’m sticking to it. Do you have a plan for healthy living in 2009?  Let me know in comments, or at the 2009 Good Health-A-Thon.

Contributing Editor Catherine Morgan
at Catherine-Morgan, Capessa Health, Women4Hope

4 Responses to “I Lost 29 Pounds, 15 More To Go…My Personal Diet and Exercise Plans For The New Year.”

  1. Congratulations on losing the weight!
    I was thinking about starting to eat Lean Cuisines. Their ads look amazing.

  2. Hi Girlslashwoman. I have to say…They are very tasty. I didn’t see any ads, I just decided on Lean Cuisine because they were the brand that was on sale for 50% off. I was actually very surprised by how good they are. Thanks for your comment.

    🙂

  3. […] that losing even as little as 10 pounds can help decrease blood pressure.  For the most part I’ve been successful, but in order to be at the most beneficial weight for my frame (according to BMI), I really need to […]

  4. […] fact that losing even as little as 10 pounds can help decrease blood pressure.  For the most part I’ve been successful, but in order to be at the most beneficial weight for my frame (according to BMI), I really need to […]

Leave a Reply

 
