women 4 hope

Dedicated to addressing women’s issues.

What Are You Addicted To?

Posted by Catherine Morgan on March 3, 2009

If you’re alive, you’re probably addicted to something.  What are you addicted to?

So many addictions, so little time. What are you addicted to? Smoking? Coffee? Chocolate? Soda? Sugar? Food? Exercise? Blogging?

I haven’t based this on any scientific study, but it’s my observation that…

If you’re alive, you’re probably addicted to something.

What do you think? Is it just human nature to be addicted? Do you know of anyone who has no addictions in their life? Are some addictions acceptable and others not? Have you replaced one addiction with another? What is your addiction? Is there a 12 step program for it? Do you wish there was?

Here is a little addiction roundup


The top ten modern addictions in the survey are:

1. Coffee
2. Chocolate
3. Facebook
4. Beauty Products
5. Checking bank statements
6. Junk food
7. Celebrity gossip and reality TV
8. Exercise
9. Retail therapy
10. The Blackberry/iPhone

My name is Leona, and I’m an addict

Not all addictions are bad.  I’m addicted to photography, horse back riding, buddyslim.com, and a slew of other things that are great.  It’s the bad addictions that are the problem   I was smart for the most part wisely stayed away from things that I knew would me harmful to me and those around me.  With a one exception:  I smoke.  I know, stupid right?  I started smoking when I was smart enough to know better.  I was 23, and I started to help me lose weight.  I have decided to quit smoking, even though to be honest with you I really enjoy it a lot.  But I’m giving myself one month.  My plan is to get my body on a healthy track and work out everyday and replace my smoking addiction with working out.

That’s Fit – Woman Goes To Rehab For Soda Addiction

One of the easiest ways to cut calories and sugar from your diet is to give up your soda habit. But for one Swedish woman, asking her to quit drinking Coke is like asking her to quit breathing. She took drinking soda to an entirely new level — from bad habit to total addiction.

The en-LiGHT-nd Woman – I’m Addicted

Yes, over 90% of Americans are addicted to drugs. What drug you ask? It’s the most common abused drug and although it’s legal, it has the same effects as illegal drugs. It’s something you’ve been ingesting since childhood. Have you ever consumed soda, chocolate, coffee, prescription drugs or over-the-counter meds? Ever been addicted to any of these substances? Drugs.com lists caffeine as a poisonous substance. The FDA says if caffeine came out on the market today, they would NOT release it to the public.

Addicted To Diet Coke

I realized today, when I left my house at 8am with a Diet Coke in hand, that my neighbor was looking at me funny. Is it wrong to drink a caffeinated beverage so early in the morning? Of course not – people drink coffee and tea at all hours of the day without receiving weird looks from the Joneses. Is it the coldness factor? People can’t handle a chilly caffeinated drink before 12 pm?

Breaking The Soda Habit

So I’ll be going from one or two 12 oz. cans a day to one or two per week. This is an experiment that I’ve done before and it usually makes me not want soda all together because I’m replacing what I’m drinking in sugar with actual, hydrating drinks like more water or 100% fruit juices. So we’ll see. I’ll keep you up to date. My hope is that cola will become something of a special occasion, like when I was a kid.

Am I addicted To Sugar?

What I have noticed since I started avoiding sugar is that I feel a lot better inside. My body feels a bit more pure, and I do not get that heavy lethargy at around 11 am that I was getting before. Once I got through the caffeine-withdrawal headaches and cloudiness, I started to feel really good, if not great (or even fantastic!).

It’s All About The Caffeine

Imagine someone told you that you could no longer have something you love. Imagine it is something you look forward too everyday that gives you great pleasure.

Addicted to Soda

Yes, its true, my name is Stephanie, and I am addicted to soda.
. . .
The United States sells enough pop to quench the thirst with a 12-ounce bottle each day for every man, woman and child in the country. More precisely, 15 billion gallons of soda were sold in the year 2000. The higher consumption of soft drinks means a corresponding lower intake of healthier beverages, including milk and – yes – water.

Julia Louis-Dreyfus diet in Shape magazine

She’s 48, addicted to chocolate and bacon and has six-pack abs–these days Julia Louis-Dreyfus is lookin’ anything but old.

In the April edition of Shape magazine, the New Adventures of Old Christine star admits that maintaining her toned body takes major effort.

“I have to work at not being fat,” Louis-Dreyfus tells the mag. “I’m always trying different things to see what sticks.”

Scale Junkie is Addicted to Food

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I am a food addict. I’ve picked food over so many things in life. There have been times when I’ve turned down invitations because I wanted to be with my food. I worried about traveling with friends because I wanted to make sure I’d have enough food. On business trips I’ve packed candy and snacks in my suitcase so when alone in the privacy of my hotel room I could be alone and take the edge off with food. I’ve gone through the drive thrus and ordered a favorite from one place only to drive down the road and order a favorite from another place.

Could being addicted to sugar impair your ability to get pregnant?

The Sugar Detox Challenge

As our Standard American Diet dictates, most of us are addicted to refined sugars. Not only do we dump them into our coffee, and inhale cookies, it’s hidden in almost every processed food we buy. And the problem is, the more we eat it, the more our body craves it. The unfortunate thing is that along with the rest of our diet, sugar can greatly decrease our ability to get pregnant.

Eating excessive sugar cause an imbalance in our blood sugar levels (especially not good if you suffer from hormonal imbalances. Insulin and your reproductive hormones are closely tied together) and actually reduces the quality of a womens follicles and a man’s sperm! It can also cause acidification of the cervical mucous, making it a hostile environment for sperm.

Also See:

Contributing Editor Catherine Morgan
at Catherine-Morgan.com and Women4Hope

Leave a Reply

 
