women 4 hope

Dedicated to addressing women’s issues.

Dr. Oz on Oprah: Calorie Restriction Diets & Extreme Life Extension

Posted by Catherine Morgan on April 4, 2009

Would you like to live to 100 years and beyond? Dr. Oz and other medical experts believe that a calorie restriction diet can help people to live longer with a higher quality of life. The calorie restriction diet also focuses on consuming calories that provide a high nutritional value, not just low calorie.

Many claim that a Calorie Restriction Diet is the answer to living longer. Personally, I don’t get the whole “extreme life extension” thing – It’s just so the opposite of living in the moment and that’s really not for me. And it’s not just a diet, it’s literally a lifestyle, one that I’m just not that into. But I do admit, there are aspects of this lifestyle that could be helpful to anyone interested in making better food choices and generally living healthier.

Read full post Dr. Oz on Calorie Restriction Diet at catherine-morgan.com

5 Responses to “Dr. Oz on Oprah: Calorie Restriction Diets & Extreme Life Extension”

  1. Lucy said

    I find that all the best research findings really don’t motivate to make significant changes UNLESS the consumer has another big reason to change (other than health). The great majority of women are not motiated by health alone. That’s just the way it is. I like to present facts and stats in a way that women feel empowered to incorporate easy daily changes. If it makes sense and is easy to do… well that’s all the more power in a woman’s corner. For a woman that is highly self-motivated, she will choose health by incorporating easy to do habits.

  2. Calorie Restriction is not just about living longer, it’s being able to live NOW. It enables you to have amazing health to do what you want in life rather than be limiting by degenerative diseases. It’s not a hard lifestyle to live (I’ve lived it since I was 18 and am now approaching my 25th birthday this year. I can’t begin to explain the benefits you get from doing CR because there are so many. I explain in a few posts on my blog. All my blood work is probably as healthy as is possible. Very insulin sensitive, really good cholesterol profile with total of 3.7 (144mg/dl) HDL 59 and Triglycerides between 35 – 53mg/dl. Blood pressure is low at 90/60, heart rate 50, allergies like hay fever completely dissapeared within weeks and hasn’t been back since, acne all cleared up. I not only become younger in all my biomarkers of health, but I look 8 years younger than my real age too (which you can see on my blog).

    CR is about getting the most out of life. Just don’t make it a boring lifestyle and create great food all the time. It can be expensive sometimes, but you can live on this diet with a budget too.

  3. jowcica said

    I can’t agree enough with Matthew and I think it’s a shame that people write this off as a current sacrifice for a potential long-term benefit.

    For those who are interested in RIGHT NOW they should give caloric restriction a chance.

    I did my undergraduate and graduate studies in Biochemistry so I’m not just a crazy fad diet follower. I have long been interested in how nutrition affects health and have read extensively on this subject. I have tried caloric restriction periodically for 12 years and whenever I cut my calories just slightly I notice I just enjoy everything in life more. Really it’s not about deprivation, it’s about eating carefully and consciously and learning your body well enough that you aren’t even tempted to overindulge. Your body will tell you what feels best if you listen to it. The benefits are endless. To begin with 1. I no longer EVER get headaches or indigestion, 2. I have so much more energy, 3. My body just feels more peaceful, 4. The hunger is only slight and once it does become a nuisance, I eat! 5. The food I do eat just tastes that much better because I’m genuinely hungry. 6. I no longer get motion sickness or just your run of the mill colds/flus 7. Because I feel better physically, I enjoy all other activities more and people more which in turn makes me even happier because my relationships get better and my success at all my endeavors improves.

    If you think about the amount of time it takes to eat and enjoy a cookie for example is about 5-10 minutes (at most!). If you sacrifice that 5 minute indulgence for 24 hrs a day of feeling better I think that’s a worthy trade off.

    You don’t have to be militant about the regime. In fact, I find that if I just let myself eat whatever one day per week (or when PMSing) that’s enough to satisfy cravings and make the indulgence even more special.

    If doing this allows me to enjoy life more now AND it might extend that life that I am enjoying so much, I don’t see any reason to not do it.

  4. how to tight your vagina…

    […]Dr. Oz on Oprah: Calorie Restriction Diets & Extreme Life Extension « women 4 hope[…]…

  5. human chorionic gonadotropin…

    […]Dr. Oz on Oprah: Calorie Restriction Diets & Extreme Life Extension « women 4 hope[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
