women 4 hope

Dedicated to addressing women’s issues.

Healthy Fast Food? Help…I’m Addicted To The Angry Whopper!

Posted by Catherine Morgan on April 23, 2009

Is there a such thing as “healthy” fast food?

I think if you work hard at it, it is possible to eat healthy at some fast food restaurants.  But to do this you also have to find the willpower to see those giant pictures of burgers and fries all around, and still choose to buy the less attractive healthy item.  It’s not always easy, and recently it’s become a real problem for me.

After doing well at making healthy food choices and even losing weight, a few weeks ago I fell off the wagon.  It’s so bad that I am actually afraid to get on the scale to see the extent of the damage.  The crazy thing is, I’m not a fast food junkie (or at least I never was), but something called an Angry Whopper is turning me into a total addict.   Seriously, I feel totally out of control.  The worst part is, it was just a whim that I even tried this stupid thing in the first place, and every day since I have been wishing I could turn back time and replay that decision.

angry-whopper

I really need to get a handle on this, and even though I know it is sooooo bad for me to eat these things, something is just not clicking.  Ironically, it was about two years ago that I developed a similar problem with a Natcho Cheese Chalupa at Taco Bell.  I think the turning point for me with the Chalupa was when I actually looked up the nutritional value (or lack there of).

So, I need to give myself an Angry Whopper intervention, and I think I know just how to do that…

As much as it pains me to find out the truth about this burger, I am going to Google the Burger King Angry Whopper right now and get the hard truth on the nutritional value of my menacing addiction — two Whopper flame-broiled hamburgers topped with Angry Onions, jalapenos, pepper jack cheese and Angry Sauce.

Here goes

Nutritional Value for the Burger King angry Double Whopper

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I knew it was going to be bad, but this is unbelievable.  It’s 1,120 calories and more than half of the calories are from fat (657 calories).  There are 63 grams of fat, 1675mg of sodium, 59 grams of carbs, and 175mg of cholesterol.

OK.  It’s painfully obvious that if I continue to eat these things I will be back up to my heaviest weight in no time, and I can’t let that happen.  I know I have to stop cold turkey, I just hope I can.   If you have any advice or wisdom for me on how I can keep this commitment to myself, please let me know in comments.

What do you think?  How do you feel about fast food?  Are you addicted?  Were you ever addicted?  Here is some of what other women are saying about fast food.

From Girly Fitness – Is There Fast Food That Won’t Make You Fat?….

I often find myself far from home and hitting up the fast food drive-thru. I know that it is not optimal, but there are actually some fast foods that you can eat that will at least allow you maintain a healthy weight. There are plenty of bad things typical to fast food: high fat, simple carbohydrates, and lack of nutrients. I must say, even these choices here are minor offendors!

From Chef Ann — Fast Food = Fat Kids

Just in from the department of not-so-surprising news: a study has found that young teenagers tend to be fatter when there are fast-food restaurants within one block of their schools.

The report found an increased obesity rate of at least 5.2 percent among teenagers at schools where fast-food outlets were a tenth of a mile — roughly one city block — or less away.

To remedy that, Eric N. Gioia, a city councilman from Queens, wants to stop fast-food restaurants from opening so close to the city’s schools.

From Fit Sugar – KFC Goes Grilled

As posting calorie counts becomes mandatory in more and more places, many fast food restaurants are trying to lure health-conscious customers back in an effort to boost slumping sales. Following its competitors that have been offering grilled fare for years, Kentucky Fried Chicken is now serving up buckets of grilled chicken, which is much healthier than its fried counterpart. The grilled chicken will cost the same as KFC’s Original Recipe, but the caloric price is considerably lower.

From The Collegian Online – Calories on Campus

“Many students think that all fast food is a bad option but you can make healthy choices,” Ann Lentell, a registered dietitian who teaches in the food science and nutrition department, said.

Just knowing which items to choose can make a big difference in the nutrition of your meal. Let’s take a look at some healthy and some not so healthy options at the eateries on campus:

Also See:

Contributing Editor Catherine Morgan
at Catherine-Morgan.com and Women4Hope

3 Responses to “Healthy Fast Food? Help…I’m Addicted To The Angry Whopper!”

  1. think about all the undigested, denatured food that is still in your intestinal tract. fast food causes diseases, it’s a fact. it’s not even about your weight, it’s about keeping your body as clean as possible as to not develop: heart disease, cancers, diabetes, etc. also, after you consume any fast food, do you feel vitalized and ready for action? that is what good nutrition/real food does for the body. if you don’t feel that way after a meal, you are eating the wrong meal.

  2. LaClau said

    Catherine,
    I just discovered this blog and find it fascinating. I read your blog on women voters and politics months ago and didn’t know you had this one too. Interesting. I also write about women’s issues in my other blog (http://mujeresconstruyendo1.blogspot.com) and have developed a blog platform for women, too (http://www.mujeresconostruyendo.com).
    Great coincidence to find this site, its full of interesting information.
    Greetings from Mexico.

  3. Good Morning,

    I can walk away from Whoppers and KFC pretty easily.It’s Cadbury and Dove that I have a problem with. Easter is the worst time of year for me.

    Have a wonderful day!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

 
