women 4 hope

Dedicated to addressing women’s issues.

Birthdays: How Do They Make You Feel?

Posted by Catherine Morgan on September 22, 2009

birthdaycupcakeBirthdays:  How do they make you feel?

Today is my birthday.  Should I be stressed because I’m getting (and looking) older?  Or should I be grateful for the opportunity to have another year of life?

I know the politically correct answer is – be grateful.  But truthfully, it’s more of a mixed bag for me.  I admit that I like it when people tell me that I don’t look my age (even when I know they are probably lying).  But at the same time, I really am thankful for every day of my life.  And overall, I’m more grateful for turning 23 33 43 than stressed about getting older.

This summer I was honored to be asked to become part of The American Cancer Society’s Blogger CouncilThe American Cancer Society is trying to change the way women think about their birthdays through their More Birthdays Campaign

To most people, birthdays are just a reminder that they’re getting older. But at the American Cancer Society, “Happy Birthday” is a victory song, because a world with less cancer is a world with more birthdays. And that’s definitely something to celebrate.

More than 11 million Americans who have survived cancer—and countless others who have avoided it—will celebrate a birthday this year, thanks to the progress we’re making together to help people stay well and get well, to find cures, and fight back.

So I’ve declared The American Cancer Society the official sponsor of my birthday.  Here is the link to my American Cancer Society Birthday Page

http://main.acsevents.org/goto/catherinemorgan

Let me know what you think, and feel free to also leave a small donation to The American Cancer Society.

Women blogging about birthdays

READ FULL POST AT CATHERINE-MORGAN.COM

Leave a Reply

 
