women 4 hope

Dedicated to addressing women’s issues.

In The End Only Kindness Matters

Posted by Catherine Morgan on February 25, 2007

IN THE END, ONLY KINDNESS MATTERS — by Catherine Morgan

Jewel has a song, and in it she sings….”In the end, only kindness matters”. Those are very profound words. I would even say, that these are words to live your life by. Because, it is so true. In the grand scheme of things, we are here on earth only a very short time. Many of us spend much of this time being angry at people, making judgments on others, and generally just not being as kind as we could be. So, the question then becomes….How can we change that? How can we live a more kind life?

Well I think, that like everything else we can’t be too hard on ourselves. After-all, we live in a harsh world, where many times people are not even being very kind to us. But, that’s no excuse either. Remember when our mom’s told us, “treat others the way you would want them to treat you”? Well it seems that, somewhere between kindergarten and junior high, most of us forget this little bit of wisdom. But, I say we bring it back. Don’t get panicked, I’m not suggesting anything radical. But, maybe just some baby-steps in the right direction.

The first thing we need to do is be conscious of our thoughts and reactions towards people. This is important because, if we recognize the times we could have chosen kindness over judgement, we find our opportunities to make a change.

Second, begin actively making attempts during your day to choose to be kind to those around you. Do this in random acts of kindness, as well as in the choices you make with the people in your everyday life….work, family, etc.

Third, notice if your kindness is rubbing off on the people around you. Are others treating you more kindly? Are others treating others more kindly? It is surprising how positive energy can radiate all around you, and affect all those around you.

Forth, reflect or journal on how choosing kindness is making a difference in your life. Try doing this for a week, if it works keep it up……if not, at least you got to hear a good song by Jewel.

Well, that’s it. Now, just go for it. And remember, IN THE END…ONLY KINDNESS MATTERS.

Jewel – Hands

14 Responses to “In The End Only Kindness Matters”

  1. bookbabie said

    I love that song. Nice, good vibes kind of blog!

  2. Thanks.

  3. Emilie said

    Thank you !! Hands is indeed a great song !
    http://www.jewelforum.com

  4. Thanks for your comment. I’ll have to check that site out.

  5. Thanks for the link to this page… It is very heart warming, and I agree with your thoughts!

    -Knight

  6. Thank you so much “Knight”, am happy you appreciated it.

  7. Bob said

    Catherine I always love reading your posts. I thought you had a post a little way back about “Something for men, and it was a bit about 5 floors, and they going up the floors, finally arriving at the 5th floor for women who are never satisfied. Could you give me a link to that post. I thought it was yours. I have thought about it and the more I think about it, the more I realize just how profound the story is. You can either email me at the address I have included or just reply in this post. Thanks ahead if time. I have a membership at WordPress it is iBloggle or iBloggle.com takes you to the same page. Do you Bloggle? iBloggle 🙂

  8. I’m sorry Bob…I think you must be mistaking…..I don’t have anything like that.

  9. Thank you so much “Jewel has a song” , have gone through your site

    it’s nice………….

    life catalyst, business catalyst, life change

  10. Dave said

    Without question, these are profound lyrics and absolutely words by which to live your life. There are neither lyrics to any song nor words from any other source that have stuck with me as strongly as those six words.

  11. Elizabeth said

    I have been living by these words for a long time and your sentiments are indeed true! I often remind my friends of this when the topic arises in conversation. Thank you for publishing the great thoughts!

  12. shawn said

    i have always lived by this song. since 1998. i love it and more than any lyric, that one sentence spoke to me. “in the end, only kindness matters.” This would would be PERFECT if people would live by that. no crime, no poverty, no sadness.

    fight the good fight! but not, out of spite.

    🙂

  13. […] of the fabled Sleipnir, for the coming months Good night New York!  Thanks for being nice to me, I miss you already Comments […]

  14. youtube video download…

    […]In The End Only Kindness Matters « women 4 hope[…]…

Leave a comment