women 4 hope

Dedicated to addressing women’s issues.

NuFace: Now anyone can look younger and reduce wrinkles.

Posted by Catherine Morgan on March 25, 2009

Did I Find The Fountain of Youth?

Do you “feel” your age?  What’s your age suppose to feel like anyway?  I’m not sure how I am suppose to be feeling at forty-something,  but I am feeling more and more like I’m “looking” my age.

The thing is…I don’t care enough about how I look to ever go under the knife and have plastic surgery, but I do care enough to wonder about other ways I might be able to maintain a youthful appearance as the years tick by.

Well, several weeks ago (January 1st to be exact), I decided to Google non-surgical face-lifts.  Most of what came up on that search were remedies and treatments available at spas and cosmetic surgery offices.  But I was really looking for something I could do myself and wouldn’t cost me a fortune to maintain.  I ended up becoming interested in a micro-current devise called NuFace.

What is a microcurrent facial?

Just how does microcurrent facial toning work? To understand that, we first need to understand what causes our facial skin to wrinkle and sag. As we age, our muscles become accustomed to certain expressions and tend to “stick” in these positions. A great example of this is the furrow between the eyebrows that many people get. At the same time, other muscles in our face are hardly ever used, and they begin to atrophy, which leads to sagging. An example of this can often be seen around our jaw lines, chins and necks where we tend to develop sagging or loss of definition as we get older.

Microcurrent facial toning machines sends safe, painless impulses to the muscles in your face that help overly-tightened muscles to relax and helps under worked muscles to regain strength. In essence, microcurrent facial toning “re-educates” the facial muscles and restores them back almost to their original shape.

When this happens the visible results are quite dramatic and the face is lifted, firmed and toned back to a much more youthful appearance. At the same time, the microcurrents improve circulation to your face which stimulates production of collagen, improves tone and texture, and improves or eliminates fine lines.

The NuFace seemed very easy to use and compared to the cost of having this type of treatment done at a spa or doctors office, reasonably priced.

So…I contacted a representative at NuFace, and they were kind enough to send me the product to try.  I had no idea what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised.  It was very simple to use, there was no discomfort at all, and my face really did feel firmer after the first time I used it.  Here are my before and after photos…

This is my before pic…

nuface-before-pic-2

I used the NuFace for about five minutes on each side of my face.

me-using-nuface-1

This is my after pic…
nuface-after-pic-3

Here is a link to other before and after pics from NuFace website.

Even though I can see a slight difference in my before and after pictures, it’s how my face felt that was the most exciting thing to me. It didn’t just feel good for a few minutes or hours after I used it.  I actually went to bed and the next day my skin still felt smooth and firm. Other benefits I’ve noticed have been a reduction in the size of my pores, and I’ve had less problems with acne. But the main reason I was looking for something like this was to improve the texture and elasticity of my skin, because the older I get the more I feel I need to use makeup, and makeup was just not looking good on my face at all. Anyway, I have noticed my makeup goes on much nicer now, and that’s a big plus for me. Here is a picture of me with makeup after using NuFace…

me-after-nuface-4

The other thing I liked about using the NuFace was that it doesn’t require you to use a bunch of heavy creams or serums to get results. There are two products that come with the NuFace, one is a water-based conductive gel that is removed with a warm washcloth after your treatment, the other is a refreshing finishing spray.  Over the years I’ve tried more anti-aging creams than I can count, and none of them did anything except make my face breakout.   And all of those anti-aging creams aren’t cheap, using them regularly could become very costly.  The NuFace isn’t cheap either, but compared to what you would pay to have even one micro-current facial at a spa (between $100 and $250 per treatment), the cost definitely seems worth it.

It retails for $379.00 on the NuFace website.   But I’ve also found it offered for less on other sites…

NuFace $320.00

Ebay from $299.00

Stillagirl has a blog with beauty advice and she did a post on NuFace…

Face lifts seem more and more prevalent these days. If you are like me though, you will seek any and all alternatives before seeking out a surgeon. One solution I found that works wonders without having to undergo surgery is called Nuface.  — read more here

Stars Getting Red Carpet Ready with NuFace treatments before the Oscars…

The Spa at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel was THE place for Hollywood celebs to get ready for Oscar Sunday! The Spa hosted an elite, invitation only event on Friday and Saturday featuring NuFace facials. Our spies saw, Orlando Bloom, Jamie King, and Molly Simms emerging from the treatment looking simply glowing.

If you’re not ready for micro-current but you’re sick of face creams that just don’t work, maybe you could give facial yoga a try.  Here is a post by Holly at WomanTribune

Facial Yoga has been deemed the natural Botox and is being used by many yoga enthusiasts as a daily exercise. By making theatrical expressions and stretching and training your face in your daily exercise routine, in your spare time or while doing household tasks, within as little as a few session you can start to see not only the lines on your forehead and under your eyes fading, but you can also see the stress that most people carry in their faces cease.

Cross posted at BlogHer’s BeautyHacks

4 Responses to “NuFace: Now anyone can look younger and reduce wrinkles.”

  1. […] […]

  2. My wife is always in anxiety that she is getting older, she has wrinkles and her skin is getting saggy, and she is getting white hairs too…

    She keeps on searching and searching for solutions until she found an anti-aging product that make her really look younger and beautiful. Yes, I really appreciated her new look, but I told her that whatever she look like physically, my love for her will never decline and she will always be the queen of my heart and she will always be a beautiful muse.

    But there is nothing wrong if someone wants to be beautiful. There are effective ways, just do not forget that what’s inside our heart is much important

  3. Face exercise…

    […]NuFace: Now anyone can look younger and reduce wrinkles. « women 4 hope[…]…

  4. Just got mine in today it’s charging now…really hope it works 🙂

Leave a comment